Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of Zimbabwe

Government: Parliamentary Democracy

Area: 390,757 km2

Capital: Harare

Spoken languages: English

Other  languages: Shona, Sindebele, numerous minor tribal dialects

Population: 14, 6 million (est. 2014).

Religions: Syncretic (part Christian, part Indigenous beliefs) 50%, Christians 25%, Indigenous beliefs 24%, Muslims and others 1%.

Political Data

Independence day: 18 April 1980 from the United Kingdom

Structure of Government:

Executive: Executive power is held by the President. The cabinet is appointed by the President. The presidential candidates are elected by popular vote for a 5-year term (no term limits).

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of a Senate (members elected by popular vote for a 5-year term) and a House of Assembly (members are elected by popular vote for 5-year terms)

Judicial: The Supreme Court is the highest court. The regional magistrate courts and the special courts are all subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Zimbabwe is a member state of  the ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, UN, UNAMID, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNISFA, UNMIL, UNOCI, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 13,6 USD billion (World Bank est. 2014)

Main economic resources: mining (coal, gold, platinum, copper, nickel, tin, diamonds, clay, numerous metallic and non-metallic ores), steel, etc.

Legal System

Mixed legal system of English common law, Roman-Dutch civil law, and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and the Zimbabwe Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, COMESA, SADC, etc.

International: United Nations Treaty Online Collection

National Partners of African Law Library