Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of Zambia

Government: Republic

Area: 752, 612 sq. km

Capital: Lusaka

Official language: English

Other languages: Bantu languages (Bemba, Nyanja, Tonga, etc)

Population: 15 million

Religions: Christians, Indigenous beliefs and Muslims

Political Data

Independence day: 24 October 1964 from the United Kingdom

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term). The Vice President and members of the Government are appointed from among the members of the Parliament, by the President.  

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly. Members are elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the High Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Zambia is a member of AU, UN, FAO, IFRCS, ILO, IMFI, Interpol, IOC, IOM,  UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, WHO, WMO, WIPO, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 26,8 billion USD

Main economic resources: copper mines, foodstuffs, etc

Major Trading Partners: China, Switzerland, EU countries, South Africa, Central Africa, DRC, Kuwait.

Legal System

Mixed legal system of English common law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and portal of the Government of Zambia

Regional: Visit the website of AU and SADC

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library