Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Uganda

Government: Republic

Area: 241, 550 sq. km

Capital: Kampala

Official languages: English

Other languages: Ganda (also called Luganda, Swahili, Arabic

Population: 34, 758,809 million (July 2013 est.)

Religions: Catholics (42 %) Protestants (42 %) Muslims (12 %), others 3 %

Political Data

Independence day: October 1962 from the United Kingdom

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 5-year term .

Legislative: The unicameral Parliament is also called the National Assembly. All the members serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Uganda is a member of AU, Commonwealth, OIC, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), OIC,UN, UNAMID, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UPU, WCO, WSF (NGO's), WHO, WMO, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 21, 243 billion USD

Main economic resources: Petroleum products, coffee, sugar cane,  cotton, potatoes, fishing industry, etc

Major Trading Partners: Sudan, Kenya, Switzerland, Rwanda, India, China

Legal System

Mixed legal system of English common law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Ugandan Government portal

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, IGAD, COMESA

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library