Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Togo

Government: Republic

Area: 56,785 sq. km

Capital: Lomé

Official languages: French

Other languages: Ewe, Mina, Kabiye, Dagomba

Population: 6,191, 155 million (July 2013 est.)

Religions: Indigenous beliefs (50%), Christians (30%), Muslims (20%)

Political Data

Independence day: 27 April 1960 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is the Head of the State. The President of the Republic is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (no term limits). The Prime Minister and members of the Government are appointed by the President.  

Legislative: Unicameral Parliament also called the National Assembly. Members are directly elected by proportional representation vote to serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts. The Assizes Court, courts of appeal, tribunals of first instance, The Court of State Security and the military tribunal are all subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Togo is a member of AU, UN, IMF, FAO, OIF, WHO, WIPO, WTO, UNHCR, UNESCO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 4,339 billion USD (IMF 2012 est.)

Main economic resources: coffee, cocoa, cotton, yam, cassava, corn, beans, rice, etc

Major Trading Partners: Germany, Benin, Ghana, Burkina Faso, China, France, India, USA, etc.

Legal System

Legal system based on the French civil law and on customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Togolese Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, ECOWAS, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library