Country Description

General information

Official name: Kingdom of  Swaziland

Government: Monarchy

Area: 17, 364 sq. km

Capital: Mbabane

Official languages: English, siSwati

Population: 1, 250 000 million (World Bank 2013 est.)

Religions: Christians 78%, Indigenous beliefs 18%, Muslims 4%

Political Data

Independence day: 6 September 1968 from the UK

Structure of Government:

Executive: The King is the Chief of State. The Prime Minister is the Head of Government. Cabinet is recommended by the Prime Minister and confirmed by the Monarch. The executive branch of the Government does not undergo elections. The monarchy is hereditary. The Prime Minister is appointed by the Monarch from among elected members of the National Assembly.

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate and the National Assembly. Members of the Parliament are elected for 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the High Court of Justice are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Swaziland is a member of AU, UN, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO,WHO, WIPO,WMO, ILO, WTO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM

Economic Data

GDP: 3,751 billion USD (World Bank)

Main economic resources: coal, timber, sugar cane, cotton, corn, tobacco, rice,  etc

Major Trading Partners: South Africa, USA, Kenya, UK, Hong Kong, South Korea, China.

Legal System

Mixed legal system of civil, common, and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Government of Swaziland portal.

Regional: Visit AU's and SADC's websites

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library