Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Sudan

Government: Federal Government

Area: 1, 886, 068 sq. km

Capital: Khartoum

Official languages: Arabic, English

Other languages: Nubian, Ta Bedawie, Fur

Population: 38 million

Religions:Muslims (96%), Christians (3%), Indigenous beliefs

Political Data

Independence day: 1st January 1956 from Egypt and the UK

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. He appoints the Cabinet.

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of the Council of States and the National Assembly. Members are elected for a 6-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts

Foreign policy: Sudan is a member of AU, UN, FAO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, OICI, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, WTO, UPU,WCO, WHO, WMO, UNWTO (observer)

Economic Data

GDP: 66,7 billion USD

Main economic resources: oil, cotton ginning, textile, cement, edible oil, sugar, petroleum refining, pharmaceutical products, weapons, etc

Major Trading Partners: China, Japan, India, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Egypt

Legal System

Mixed legal system of Islamic law and English common law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Government of Sudan portal

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, IGAD, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library