Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Congo

Government: Republic

Area: 342,000 sq. km

Capital: Brazzaville

Official language: French

Other languages: Lingala

Population: 4,492, 689 million

Religions: Christians (90%), Muslims and Religious beliefs (10%)

Political Data

Independence day: 15 August 1960 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 7-year term (eligible for a second term).

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senate (members are elected for a 5-year term) and the National Assembly (members are elected for a 6-year term).

Judicial: The Supreme Court, the Court of Audit and Budgetary Discipline and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: The Republic of Congo is a member of UN, AU, CEMAC, FAO, le G-77, IMF, ILO, OIF, IOM, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNWTO, WHO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 14,5 billion USD (Treasury 2013)

Main economic resources: crude oil, cement, sugar, rice, corn, groundnuts, etc

Major Trading Partners: China, The Netherlands, France, Brazil, Belgium

Legal System

Mixed legal system modeled on French civil law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Government of Congo portal.

Regional: Visit the website of : AU, ECCAS, CEMAC, OHADA

International: United Nations Treaty Series  Online Collection

National Partners of African Law Library