Country Description

General information

Official name: Federal Republic of Nigeria

Government: Republic

Area : 923,768 sq km


Official languages: English

 Other languages Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani, over 500 additional indigenous languages

Population: 181,562,056 (CIA July 2013 est.)

Religions: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, Indigenous beliefs 10%

Political Data

Independence day: 1 October 1960 from the UK.

Structure of Government:

Executive: the President is elected by popular vote for a 4-year term (there is a two- term limit). The Executive power is vested in the President, who is simultaneously Chief of State and Head of Government.

Legislative: The bicameral National Assembly consists of the Senate (members directly elected by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms) and the House of Representatives ( members directly elected by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms)

Judicial: The highest court is the Supreme Court. The subordinate courts are the Court of Appeal; the Federal High Court; High Court of the Federal Capital Territory; Sharia Court of Appeal of the Federal Capital Territory; Customary Court of Appeal of the Federal Capital Territory.

Foreign policy: Nigeria is a member of : ACP, AFDB, AU, C, CD, D-8, ECOWAS, EITI (compliant country), FAO, G-15, G-24, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (national committees), ICCT, ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, IMSO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), MIGA, MINURSO, MINUSMA, MONUSCO, NAM, OAS (observer), OIC, OPCW, OPEC, PCA, UN, UN Security Council (temporary), UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, UNIFIL, UNISFA, UNITAR, UNMIL, UNMISS, UNOCI, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGOs), WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

Economic Data

GDP: 1,049 trillion (2014 est.)

Main economic resources: crude oil, coal, tin, columbite; rubber products, wood; hides and skins, textiles, cement and other construction materials, food products, footwear, chemicals, fertilizer, printing, ceramics, steel

Legal System

mixed legal system of English common law, Islamic law (in 12 northern states), and traditional law

Useful Links

National: Constitution and official website of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

RegionalAfrican Union , the Economic Community of West African States

International: see the United Nations Treaty Online Collection

National Partners of African Law Library