Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of Mozambique

Government: Republic 

Area: 799 380

Capital: Maputo

Official language: Portuguese

Population: 25,8 million (World Bank 2014)

Religions: Catholic 28%, Protestant 27%, Muslim 17%

Political Data

Independence day: 25 June 1975 from Portugal

Structure of Government:

Executive: the President is elected by popular vote for a 5-year term and may be re-elected only once. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.

Legislative: the unicameral Parliament is also called Assembly of the Republic and its members are elected by a direct popular vote to serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: the Supreme Court, the Administrative Court and the Constitutional Council are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Mozambique is a State member of the ACP, AFDB, AU, Commonwealth, CD, CPLP, EITI (compliant country), FAO, G-77, IAEA, ICRM, IDA, IDB, , IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, Legis-PALOP, MIGA, NAM, OIC, OIF (observer), UN, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNIDO, Union Latina, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 15,32 billion USD (World Bank 2013)

Main economic resources: aluminum, petroleum products, cotton, cashew nuts, sugarcane, tea, cassava, etc

Legal System

Mixed legal system of Portuguese civil law, Islamic law, and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and the Government of Mozambique Portal

Regional: Visit the African Union website, etc.

Universal: United Nations Treaty Online Collection.

National Partners of African Law Library