Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Mauritius

Government: Republic

Area: 1,865 sq. km

Capital: Port  Louis

Official languages: English

Other languages: Creole, Bhojpuri, French

Population: 1, 322, 238 million

Religions: Hindus (52 %), Christians (30%), Muslims (17%)

Political Data

Independence day: 12 March 1968 from United Kingdom

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President and the Vice-President are indirectly elected by the National Assembly to serve a 5-year term (eligible for a second term). The Council of Ministers is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly where members are directly elected by simple majority vote to serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Supreme Court of Mauritius is the highest court.

Foreign policy: Mauritius is a member of ACP, AU, FAO, ICRM, ILO, IMFI, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO, ITSO, ITU, OIF, APC, SAARC (observer), SADC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WFTU (NGO), WHO, WMO, WIPO, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 11, 93  billion USD (World Bank est. 2013)

Main economic resources: Tourism, food processing ( mainly sugar cane milling),  sugar cane, tea, corn, potatoes, bananas, etc

Major Trading Partners: UK, France, USA, India, China, South Africa.

Legal System

Civil legal system based on the French civil law with some elements of English common law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Mauritian Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, IOC, COMESA

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library