Country Description

General information

Official name: Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Government: Republic

Area : 1,030,700 sq km


Official languages: Arabic 

Other languages: Pulaar, Soninke, Wolof (all national languages), French, Hassaniya (a variety of Arabic)

Population: 3,596,702 (July 2015 est.)

Religions: Muslim 100%

Political Data

Independence day: 28 November 1960 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive power: the President is elected by popular vote for a 5-year term (no term limits).

Legislative: The bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate (members are indirectly elected by simple majority vote and serve 6-year terms) and the National Assembly (members serve 5-year terms).

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Council are the highest courts.

Subordinate courts include the High Court of Justice, the Court of Appeal, Regional courts, Commercial and Labour courts, Criminal courts, District courts and informal/customary courts.

Foreign policy: the Republic of Mauritania is a member of ABEDA, ACP, AFDB, AFESD, AMF, AMU, AU, CAEU (candidate), EITI (compliant country), FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICC (NGOs), ICRM, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO (pending member), ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ISO (correspondent), ITSO, ITU, ITUC (NGOs), LAS, MIGA, MIUSMA, NAM, OIC, OIF, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO

Economic Data

GDP: 5,079 billion USD (CIA fact book 2014 estimate)

Main economic resources: fish processing, oil production, mining (iron ore, gold, copper). Note: gypsum deposits have never been utilized.

Legal System

Mixed legal system of Islamic and French civil law

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Mauritanian Government Portal.

Regional: AU

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection.

National Partners of African Law Library