Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Madagascar

Government: Republic

Area: 587,041 sq. km

Capital: Antananarivo

Official languages: Malagasy, French

Other languages: English

Population: 22, 599, 098 million (July 2013 est.)

Religions: Indigenous beliefs (50 %), Christians (45 %), Muslims (5 %)

Political Data

Independence day: 26 June 1960 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is the Head of the State. The President of the Republic is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.  

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of a Senate and a National Assembly whose members are elected for a 4-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court (made up of the Cassation Court, State council and Court of Auditors) and the Constitutional High Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Madagascar is a member of  UN, AU (suspended), WHO, IMF, la FAO, OIF, WTO, WMO, UNESCO, UNHCR, ILO, SADC (suspended), UPU, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 10,117  billion USD

Main economic resources: Fishery products, textile, coffee, vanilla, sugar, cloves, cocoa, rice, tourism, etc.

Major Trading Partners: France, Germany, China, USA, South Africa, Bahrain, etc

Legal System

Civil law system based on the French civil code and customary law in matters of marriage, family and obligation.

Useful Links

National: Constitution, Malagasy government portal and Malagasy Presidency Portal

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, EAC, IGAD, SADC, etc.

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library