Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Kenya

Government: Republic

Area: 580 ,367 sq. km

Capital: Nairobi

Official languages: English, Kiswahili

Other languages: numerous indigenous languages

Population: 44, 037,656 (July 2013est.)

Religions: Christians 82%, Muslims 11%, Indigenous beliefs 10%

Political Data

Independence day: 12 December 1963 from Great Britain

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term only).

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of a Senate and a House of People's Representatives whose members are elected for a 5-year term

Judicial: The Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Court of Justice are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Kenya is a member of UN, UNAMID, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNHCR, UNMIS, WTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WMO, WIPO, UNWTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 40,697 billion USD (IMF est. 2012)

Main economic resources: Tourism, petroleum refining, aluminium, steel, tea, coffee, corn, wheat, sugar cane, etc

Major Trading Partners: Uganda, Tanzania, The Netherlands, UK, USA, Egypt, DRC, India, China, UAE, Saudi Arabia.

Legal System

Mixed system of English common law, Islamic law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Kenyan Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, COMESA, EAC, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library