Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of Ivory Coast

Government: Republic

Area: 322,463 sq. Km

Capital: Yamoussoukro (official capital); note - Abidjan is the seat of government

Official language: French

Other languages: Dioula, Baoulé, Bété, Yacouba

Population: 24,1 million (IMF est. 2013)

Religions: Muslims (38%), Christians (32%), Indigenous beliefs (11%)

Political Data

Independence day: 7 August 1960 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is the Head of the State. The President of the Republic is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term). The Prime Minister (Head of Government) and members of the Government are appointed by the President.  

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly. Members are elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term).

Judicial: The Constitutional Court, the Cassation Court, the State Council and the Auditors Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Ivory Coast is a member of UN, AU, ECOWAS, WAEMU, OIF, UNESCO, UNHCR, WTO, WHO, Union Latina, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 28 billion USD (IMF est.2013)

Main economic resources: cocoa, coffee, bananas, palm oil, timber, refining of petroleum, gold, etc

Major Trading Partners: The Netherlands, France, USA, Germany, Nigeria, China, Thailand, etc.

Legal System

Civil law system based on the French model.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Ivory Coast Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, ECOWAS, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library