Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Guinea-Bissau

Government: Republic

Area: 36,125 sq. km

Capital: Bissau

Official languages: Portuguese

Other languages: Creole, French, Balante

Population: 1, 704 million

Religions: Muslims (50%), Christians (10%), Animists (40%)

Political Data

Independence day: 24 September 1973

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is the Head of the State. The President of the Republic is directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term). The Prime Minister and members of the Government are appointed by the President.  

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly. Members are elected by simple majority vote for a 4-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court is the highest court.

Foreign policy: Guinea-Bissau is a member of  AFDB, ILO, WIPO, FAO, Legis-PALOP, WAEMU, ECOWAS, WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 961 million USD (IMF est. 2013)

Main economic resources: rice, corn, beans, cassava, etc

Major Trading Partners: Spain, Ireland, India, China, The Netherlands, France, etc.

Legal System

Civil law system based on the French model and on customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Bissau-Guinean Government portal and the website of the National People's Assembly of Guinea-Bissau.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, ECOWAS, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library