Country Description

General information

Official name: Federal Democratic Republic of  Ethiopia

Government: Federal Republic

Area: 1,104, 300 sq. km

Capital: Addis –Ababa

Official national language: Amharic (also the working language of the Federal Government)

Other languages: All Ethiopian languages are recognised and each state can choose its own official working language.

Religions: Orthodox ; Muslims; Protestants ; Animists ; Catholics and others

Political Data

Independence day: oldest independent country in Africa and one of the oldest in the world - at least 2,000 years.

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is elected by both chambers of Parliament for a 6-year term (eligible for one more term only). The Prime Minister is designated by the majority party following legislative elections.

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of the House of Federation whose members are elected by absolute majority popular vote to serve a 5-year term, and the House of People's Representatives whose members also serve a 5-year term.

Judicial: The Federal Supreme Court is the highest court. Federal courts of first instance, sharia courts, customary and traditional courts are all subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Ethiopia is a member of ACP, AU, COMESA, FAO, IFRCS, IGAD,ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, IPU, ITSO, ITU, APC,UN, UNESCO, UNOCII, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO (observer),etc

Economic Data

GDP: 42.516 billion USD

Main economic resources: coffee, khat, gold, leather products, livestock, oilseeds, etc.

Major Trading Partners: Germany, China, Belgium, Saudi Arabia, USA, Italy, India

Legal System

Mixed legal system of civil, customary and Islamic religious law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Ethiopian Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU and COMESA

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library