Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Eritrea

Government: Republic

Area: 117, 600 sq. km

Capital: Asmara (Asmera)

Official languages: Tigrinya, Arabic, English

Population: 6, 233,682  million

Religions: Muslim 50% ; Coptic Christian 30% ; Roman Catholic 13% ; Protestants and others  7%

Political Data

Independence day: 24 May 1993 from Ethiopia

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is both the Chief of State and Head of government. The President is indirectly elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term.

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly. Members are elected by simple majority vote and serve a 5-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court is the highest court. Regional courts, special courts, military courts, sharia courts (for issues dealing with marriage, inheritance and family) are all subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Eritrea is a member of ACP, Interpol, AU, UN, UNESCO, UNIDO, UNWTO, UPU, etc

Economic Data

GDP: 3, 092 billion USD

Main economic resources: sorghum, lentils, vegetables, corn, cotton, tobacco, sisal, processed food, beverages, etc.

Major Trading Partners: Italy, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, China, UK, Egypt, India, Germany, South Africa, Brazil, South Korea.

Legal System

Mixed legal system of civil, customary and Islamic religious law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Eritrean Government portal.

Regional: AU and COMESA

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library