Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Equatorial Guinea

Government: Republic

Area: 28,051 sq. km

Capital: Malabo

Official languages: Spanish, French

Other languages: Portuguese

Population: 720 000 (World bank est.2014)

Religions: Christian (90%), Others (10%)

Political Data

Independence day: 12 October 1968 from Spain

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 7-year term (eligible for a second term). The President appoints the Prime Ministers and the Council of Ministers.

Legislative: Bicameral Parliament consisting of a Senate and a House of People's Representatives whose members are elected for a 5-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Equatorial Guinea is a member of UN, AU,  CEMAC, FAO, WHO, IMF,ILO, WTO (observer country), WIPO, UNESCO, IOM, etc

Economic Data

GDP: 11.7 billion Euros (IMF est.2013)

Main economic resources: Oil, natural gas, coffee, cocoa, rice, palm oil, bananas, etc

Major Trading Partners: USA, Italy, Spain, South Korea, China, France, etc

Legal System

Mixed system of civil and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and  Equatorial Guinea Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, ECCAS, CEMAC, OHADA, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library