Country description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Egypt

Government: Republic

Area: 1, 002 ,000  sq. km

Capital: Cairo

Official language: Arabic

Population: 86 million (2013 est.)

Religions:  Muslim predominantly Sunni (90%), Christian majority Coptic Orthodox (9%) and other Christians (1%)

Political Data

Independence day: 28 February 1922 from Great Britain

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is the Chief of State. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 4-year term (eligible for a second term). The President appoints the Prime Minister and the members of Government.

Legislative: Unicameral House of Representatives. Members are elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term.

Judicial: The State Council, the Supreme Constitutional Court and the Supreme Administrative Court are the highest courts. Courts of Appeal, courts of first instance, Family courts and other specialised courts are subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Egypt is a member of UN, WTO, ICJ, ILO, WIPO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 286 billion USD (2014 est.)

Main economic resources: crude oil and petroleum products, cotton, textile, metals and metal goods, chemicals, etc.

Major Trading Partners: EU, Italy, USA, India, UAE, UK, China.

Legal System

Civil law and common law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Egyptian Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of AU and COMESA

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library