Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Djibouti

Government: Republic

Area: 23,200 sq. km

Capital: Djibouti

Official languages: French, Arabic

Other languages: Somali, Afar

Population: 792,198 (est. July 2013)

Religions: Muslims (98%), Christians (2%)

Political Data

Independence day: 27 June 1977 from France

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is the Chief of State and is directly elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 6-year term (renewable once). The President appoints the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers.

Legislative: Unicameral National Assembly. Members are elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term.

Judicial: The Supreme Court, the Constitutional Council and the High court of Justice are the highest courts.

Foreign policy: Djibouti is a member of UN, AU, FAO, WHO, Arab League, IGAD, IMF, OIC, OIF, WTO, UNESCO, UNHCR, ILO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 1,354  billion USD

Main economic resources: Fruits, vegetables, livestock etc

Major Trading Partners: Somalia, Yemen, Egypt, China, India, Malaysia, United States.

Legal System

Mixed legalMixed legal system based primarily on the French civil code Islamic religious law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution Djibouti Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of : AU, EAC, COMESA, IGAD, etc

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library