Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Central Africa

Government: Republic

Area: 623,000   sq. km

Capital: Bangui

Official languages: French, Sangho

Other languages: Tribal languages

Population: 4.7 million ( INED 2013)

Religions: Christians (50%), Indigenous Beliefs (35%), Muslims (15%)

Political Data

Independence day: 13 August 1960 from France

Republic Day: 1 December ( 1958)

Structure of Government:

Executive: An interim President has been elected by the National Transitional Council. The President appoints the Prime minister and on the latter's recommendation, the President appoints or dismisses members of the transitional government.

Legislative: The National Transitional Council holds the legislative power during the transition period. The council is made up of 135 members who are representative of the political and socio-economic categories of the country.

Judicial: The Transitional Constitutional Court (consists of 9 judges of which at least 4 are women), the Court of Auditors, the Court of Cassation and the Council of State are the country's Judicial authority.

Foreign policy: The Republic of Central Africa is a member of UN, AU, IOC, IMF, WHO, WTO, WIPO, UNESCO, UNHCR, ILO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 1,54 billion USD

Main economic resources: Gold and diamond, forestry, sugar, cotton, coffee, tobacco, etc

Major Trading Partners: Belgium , China, Indonesia.

Legal System

Civil law system based on the French model.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Central African Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, Economic Community of Central African States, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa, OHADA

International: United Nations Treaty  Online Collection

National Partners of African Law Library