Collection Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Cameroon

Government: Republic

Area: 475,442 sq. km

Capital: Yaoundé

Official languages: English and French

Other languages: Cam franglais, Pidgin English, more than 200 other languages.

Population: 21,917, 602  (est. 2015)

Religions: Christians (35-40%), Muslims (15-20%), Indigenous Beliefs (45%)

Political Data

Independence day: 1 January 1960 from France and 1 October 1961 from UK

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is the Chief of State. He appoints the Prime Minister who becomes the Head of government. The Cabinet is proposed by the Prime minister and approved by the President. The President is elected by simple majority popular vote for a 7-year term (no term limits since 2008).

Legislative: A bicameral Parliament consisting of a Senate (since 2013) and the National Assembly. Both serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Supreme Court and the Constitutional Council are the highest courts. Appellate Courts, Military Courts, Regional Courts and first instance Courts are all subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Cameroon is a member of UN, AU, CCAS, FAO, G-77, IDA, IDB, IFAD, IFC, ILO, IMF, Interpol, IOM, ISO, OIF, PCA, UNESCO, UNHCR, WHO, WMO, WTO, etc

Economic Data

GDP: 29.57 billion USD

Main economic resources: crude oil, aluminium, wood, cocoa, coffee, cotton, bananas, etc.

 Major Trading Partners: China, Portugal, the Netherlands, Spain, Nigeria, France, etc

Legal System

Mixed legal system modeled on English common law, French civil law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Cameroonian Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, Economic Community of Central African States, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa, OHADA

International: United Nations Treaty  Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library