Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Burundi

Government: Republic

Area: 27,834  sq. km

Capital: Bujumbura

Official languages: Kirundi and French

Other languages: Swahili (Bujumbura and its outskirts, also in the main cities of the country).

Population: 10, 888, 321  (2013)

Religions: Christians (82.8%), Indigenous Belief (11%), Muslims (2%), and others.

Political Data

Independence day: 1 July 1962 from Belgium

Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is both the Chief of state and the Head of government. The President is elected by direct universal suffrage for a 5-year term that is renewable once.

Legislative: The bicameral Parliament consists of the Senate and the National Assembly. Members of the Senate serve a 5-year term. Deputies of the National Assembly also serve a 5-year term. The remaining seats in Parliament are reserved for former heads of state and various ethnic groups.

Judicial: The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country. There are 4 Courts of Appeal. County Courts and Courts of Residence are subordinate courts.

Foreign policy: Burundi is a member of UN, AU, IMF, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS,ILO, Interpol, UNHCR, IOM, OIF, UNESCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO,WTO, etc.

Economic Data

GDP: 2.472  billion USD (IMF est. 2012)

Main economic resources: coffee, tea, cotton, corn, cassava, beans, sorghum, sweet potatoes,  etc

Major Trading Partners: Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, Saudi Arabia, Belgium, Uganda, Kenya, etc

Legal System

Mixed legal system modeled on Belgian civil law and customary law.

Useful Links

National: Constitution and Burundi Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, EAC, COMESA, etc.

International: United Nations Treaty  Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library