Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Burkina Faso

Government: Republic

Area: 274,500 sq. km

Capital: Ouagadougou

Official languages: French

Other languages: Mooré, Dioula, Fulfuldé, San

Population: 18,931,686

Religions: Muslim (60.5 %), Christian (19%), Indigenous Beliefs (15.3%), Protestant (4.2%)


Political Data

Independence day: 5 August 1960 from France


Structure of Government:


The President is the Head of state while the Prime minister is the Head of government. The ministers are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime minister. A transitional government has taken over following the ouster of President Blaise Compaoré in October 2014.


Legislative: A National Transitional Council is acting as legislature until elections are held.

Judicial: The Supreme Court of Appeals, the Council of State, the Court of Auditors, the High Court and the Constitutional Council are the highest courts of the country. Courts of Appeal, courts of First Instance, District and village courts and other specific courts ( labour, children, etc) are subordinate courts.


Foreign policy: Burkina Faso is a member of UN, ECOWAS, IMF, ILO, WTO (observer status), UNHCR, WHO, UNESCO, IOM, UNIDO, etc.


Economic Data

GDP: 11,6 billion USD ( World bank est. 2013)

Main economic resources: Cotton, corn, cassava, yams, beans, palm oil, groundnuts, etc

Major Trading Partners: Ivory Coast, Ghana, Belgium, China, France, Singapore


Legal System

Civil law based on the French model and customary law.


Useful Links

National: Constitution and Burkina Faso Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, ECOWAS, etc.

International: United Nations Treaty  Online collection


National Partners of African Law Library