Country description

General information

Official name: Republic of Botswana

Government: Republic

Area: 581,730 sq. km

Capital: Gaborone

Official language: English

Other languages: Setswana, Khoisan

Population: 2, 127,825 (est. July 2013)

Religions: Christians 70 %, Indigenous  beliefs 30 %.


Political Data

Independence day: 30 September 1966 from Great Britain


Structure of Government:

Executive: The President is both the Chief of state and the Head of government. The President is elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term). Together with the Parliament, the President appoints the vice President. In the event of the President's death or resignation before his mandate ends, the vice President replaces him.

Legislative: The bicameral Parliament consists of the National assembly whose members are elected for a 5-year term and the House of Chiefs.

Judicial: The High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal are the highest courts.


Foreign policy: Botswana is a member of ACP, AU, Commonwealth, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, WTO, UPU, WCO, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WTO, ILO, IMF, IOM, etc.


Economic Data

GDP: 14.78 billion USD ( World Bank est. 2014)

Main economic resources: Diamond, copper, potassium, coal, iron ore, livestock, sorghum, corn, sunflower, groundnut, etc

Major Trading Partners: South Africa, China, Brazil, India, Russia, Japan, Cuba


Legal System

Mixed legal system of civil law influenced by the Roman-Dutch model and also customary and common law.


Useful Links

National: Constitution and Botswana Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU and SADC

International: United Nations Treaty  Online collection

National Partners of African Law Library