Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of Angola

Government: Republic

Area: 1,246,700 sq. km

Capital: Luanda

 Official languages: Portuguese

Other languages: Kimbundu, Umbundu, Kikongo, Tchokwe and other African languages

Population: 22.1 million (World Bank est., 2014)

Religions: Christians (90%), Indigenous beliefs (10%)


Political Data

Independence day: 11 November 1975 from Portugal


Structure of Government:

Executive Power: The President of the Republic is both Chief of State and Head of Government. The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term).

Legislative: Unicameral Parliament, also called the National Assembly with 220 seats. All the parliamentarians are elected by proportional vote to serve 5-year terms.

Judicial: The Constitutional Court, the Supreme Court, the Court of Auditors and the Supreme Military Court are the highest courts. Provincial and municipal courts are all subordinate courts.


Foreign policy: Angola is a member state of the ACP, AU, CPLP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, ILO, IMF, IMO, Interpol, IOC, IOM, MIGA, NAM, OPEC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, Union Latina, UNWTO, UPU, WCO, WMO, WTO, Legis-PALOP and others.


Economic Data

GDP: 131.4 billion USD (World Bank 2014 est.)

Main economic resources: crude oil,  diamonds, iron ore, phosphates, feldspar, bauxite, uranium, and gold, bananas, sugarcane, coffee, sisal, corn, cotton, tobacco products, sugar, etc.


Legal System

Civil legal system based on Portuguese civil law.


Useful Links

National: constitution and Angola Government portal.

International: United Nations Treaty Series Online Collection.


National Partners of African Law Library