Country Description

General information

Official name: Republic of  Algeria

Government: Republic

Area: 2, 381, 741 sq. km

Capital: Algiers

Official languages: Modern standard Arabic (Literary Arabic), Tamazight (national)

Other languages: Algerian Arabic, French, Berber

Population: 38, 087,812 (census July 2013)

Religions: Islam ( Sunni Muslims), Mozabite minority


Political Data

Independence day: 5 July 1962 from France


Structure of Government:

Executive: The President of the Republic is the Head of the State and is elected by direct universal suffrage for a term of five years which is renewable. The President of the Republic appoints the Prime Minister to be the head of the Government. He also appoints the other members of the Government.

Legislative: Algeria has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the National People's Assembly (lower Chamber) whose members are elected for a 5-year term and the Council of the Nation whose members are elected for a term of 6 years.

Judicial: The Supreme Court, the Council of State, the High Court of justice and the Constitutional Court are the highest courts.


Foreign policy: Algeria is a member of AU, UN, AMU, OIC, IMF, ILO, WTO, UNHCR, WHO, IOM, UNIDO, G-15, etc.


Economic Data

GDP: 209,329 billion USD ( IMF estimate 2012)

Main economic resources: crude oil, natural gas, light industries, mines, wheat, barley, oats, grapes, olives , etc

Major Trading Partners: France, China, Spain, Italy and Germany


Legal System

Mixed legal system of French civil law and Islamic law


Useful Links

National: Constitution and Algerian Government portal.

Regional: Visit the website of: AU, AMU ( Arab Maghreb Union), etc

International: United Nations Treaty Online Collection


National Partners of African Law Library