Collection Description

The African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC)'s vision is to foster a safe, secure, efficient, cost-effective, sustainable and environmentally friendly Civil Aviation industry in Africa.

The African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) was created by the Constitutional Conference convened by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) and the then Organization of African Unity (OAU, now African Union AU) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, in 1964. AFCAC was fully established and began functioning in 1969 and became an OAU Specialized Agency on 11 May 1978 in the field of Civil Aviation. From inception, AFCAC was technically, administratively and financially managed by the ICAO through African Member State's contributions. AFCAC became autonomous from ICAO management on the 1st of January 2007.

AFCAC today comprises 54 African States and is managed through a triennial Plenary session (consisting of all member States). The Bureau is made up of a President, 5 Vice-Presidents (representing Northern, Western, Eastern, Central and Southern Africa Regions) and the Coordinator of the African Group at the ICAO Council. The Secretariat is headed by a Secretary General.